Different Types of Unlock Code for Changing Network

Different Types of Unlock Code for Changing Network

17 Aug 2012

Mobile phone networks haven't made life too easy when it comes to unlocking. The manufacturers have tried their best to make the process as simple as possible, but it can become quite daunting when attempting to enter the unlock code, and deciding which code to enter exactly.

There are 3 main types of unlock codes that are needed when unlocking a mobile phone.

Network Code

Also known as an MEP2 for BlackBerry handsets. This code corresponds to the major networks such as O2, Orange, T-Mobile, Vodafone and Three. It is the most popular unlock code that is needed, and usually the best bet to try first.

Service Provider Code

Also referred to as the SPCK. This is needed for MVNOs (Mobile Virtual Network Operators) such as Virgin and Tesco, who use one of the major networks signals to provide their service. There are instances when the phone will refer to this code and request it when the wrong code is entered.

Master/Defreeze Code

Sometimes called the MCK. This is the master code and is used when previous incorrect unlock attempts have been used on the phone. It will only work however on phones that don't have a visible unlock attempts counter. On phones like BlackBerry that usually display a visible attempts counter, the MCK wouldn't be able to recover used attempts and isn't provided in the order.

To find out which code is required on your phone, please refer to the instructions we provide either on our handset pages or the instructions in the email with your unlock code.

Image Source

Article by Darren Kingman

Featured In